Tyco Collector's Forum -
Welcome to the forum.
Username:
Password:
Save Password


Register
Forgot your Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Forum Admins & Mods   FAQ   Install Search Provider   Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Newsletters | Member Map | Members | Online Users |
[ Active Members: 1 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 30 ]  [ Total: 31 ]  [ Newest Member: Chutem ] Select Skin:
 All Forums
 Tyco Trains
 Tyco Maintenance & Repair Shop
 "DCC Ready."
   All users can post NEW topics in this forum
   All users can reply to topics in this forum
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic: Tyco 4-8-0 on DCC Topic Next Topic: Mantua Pacific Wheels Slip on Curves  

Chops124
Big Boy





Penn Central Logo

Status: offline

 Posted - March 23 2021 :  12:57:50 AM Link directly to this topic  Show Profile  Add Chops124 to Buddylist
Long story short, I'd like to bump the "DCC Ready" Bachmann American types
to DCC. I assumed that "DCC Ready" meant the same as "Plug and Play," but
I see nothing on the diagrams to indicate there is any ready attachment socket
for any decoder. The Bachmann web site is equally unhelpful.

Anyone have any experience with Bachmann EZ decoders? Are they reliable?
Do they have Stay Alive?



 Country: USA  ~  Posts: 11226  ~  Member Since: December 09 2013  ~  Last Visit: May 27 2024 Alert Moderator 

jward
Hudson

PRRShieldAvatar

Status: offline

 Posted - November 15 2021 :  6:14:37 PM Link directly to this reply  Show Profile  Add jward to Buddylist
I realize it's been awhile since you posted this. I've been away from the forum for a while.

My experience with Bachmann decoders is limited to the DCC OnBoard diesels and a couple of Sound Value units.

As usual, Bachmann took a good idea and bunted. The DCC OnBoard decoders are cheap and do not support some of the most basic CVs like the ones that control mid and max voltage to the motor. This makes speed matching two Bachmann units next to impossible. Also, they are not silent running, and make the normally quiet running Bachmann engines sound like coffee grinders. There are far better options out there.

I have successfully converted numerous Bachmann steam locomotives (mostly the 0-6-0s) with a z scale decoder, the Digitrax DZ126. These are a hard wired install, and I had to remove the smoke unit to provide a place for the decoder, but the converted locomotives run silent and well. Since the locomotive is listed as DCC ready it means the motor is isolated from the chassis, so the hardest part of the conversion is already done for you. All that's left is hooking up the motor leads, the track power leads, and wiring the headlight. All in all it should be pretty simple if you have any experience with hard wired decoders. Best of all, the decoder I used retails for about $20, far less than the Bachmann decoders.
 Country: USA  ~  Posts: 497  ~  Member Since: December 22 2013  ~  Last Visit: May 29 2024 Alert Moderator  Go To Top Of Page

Chops124
Big Boy





Penn Central Logo

Status: offline

 Posted - November 16 2021 :  01:13:40 AM Link directly to this reply  Show Profile  Add Chops124 to Buddylist
Thanks, Jward, I will be taking your advice, as I have not
taken the plunge on the decoders just yet; waiting for it
to get too cold to work in the garage.

And welcome back! Please be aware that the server here has
a nasty habit of winking out every other week or so, so if
it goes down, try again in a few days. Usually, by Sunday
it is operational again.

My next question for you, is does this Digitrax decoder, of which
you speak, compatible with the Bachmann Command Control
system? In theory, it should be....but as with all thing Bachmann
it is never wise to guess.
 Country: USA  ~  Posts: 11226  ~  Member Since: December 09 2013  ~  Last Visit: May 27 2024 Alert Moderator  Go To Top Of Page

jward
Hudson

PRRShieldAvatar

Status: offline

 Posted - November 17 2021 :  1:06:00 PM Link directly to this reply  Show Profile  Add jward to Buddylist
The Digitrax decoders should be compatible with the EZ Command. They conform to NMRA standards and I've run them on NCE, Digitrax and MRC systems without problems. But EZ Command is DCC lite. It's limited capabilities don't meet my needs so I took a hard pass on the system, and none of my friends have one so I've never actually operated one.
 Country: USA  ~  Posts: 497  ~  Member Since: December 22 2013  ~  Last Visit: May 29 2024 Alert Moderator  Go To Top Of Page

Chops124
Big Boy





Penn Central Logo

Status: offline

 Posted - November 18 2021 :  12:44:04 AM Link directly to this reply  Show Profile  Add Chops124 to Buddylist
Thanks for the tip, Jward. I'm not too brilliant when it
comes to these gizmos, so "lite" is about my top
voltage. This fool shall now rush in!
 Country: USA  ~  Posts: 11226  ~  Member Since: December 09 2013  ~  Last Visit: May 27 2024 Alert Moderator  Go To Top Of Page
  Previous Topic: Tyco 4-8-0 on DCC Topic Next Topic: Mantua Pacific Wheels Slip on Curves  
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
 Image Forums 2001 This page was generated in 0.09 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000