Tyco Collector's Forum -
Welcome to the forum.
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register
Forgot your Password?
  Home   Forums   Events Calendar   Forum Admins & Mods   FAQ   Install Search Provider   Register
Active Topics | Active Polls | Newsletters | Member Map | Members | Online Users |
[ Active Members: 0 | Anonymous Members: 0 | Guests: 15 ]  [ Total: 15 ]  [ Newest Member: Strummer ] Select Skin:
 All Forums
 Other Great HO Trains
 Lionel Motive Power/Rolling Stock & Accessories
 Question about Lionel HO Scale FA wiring
   All users can post NEW topics in this forum
   All users can reply to topics in this forum
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic: My mom''s old Lionel Scout. Topic Next Topic: Tuesday Morning  

a6m5zerosen
Little Six

DRGWAvatar

Posted - February 10 2015 :  10:42:15 PM Link directly to this topic  Show Profile  Add a6m5zerosen to Buddylist

I picked up a Lionel HO scale FA at a thrift store. I have no experience with Lionel HO.
I took the shell off and found the motor and driveshaft bouncing around loose. I
cleaned it, lubed it, put it back together, and when you put it on the track the power
light goes dim on the transformer and the overload light comes on. I do not know
if the loco ran before. Electrically it's pretty simple-two wires coming off the motor
for the headlight, one wire going to a copper strip that seems to rub against the
backs of two of the wheels on the left side of the front truck. The motor clipping
into the metal chassis seems to be the only other electrical pathway. Any ideas
on wha's the issue? Headlight dos not come on and loco does nothing - no hum
or signs of life.

Edited by - a6m5zerosen on February 12 2015 11:39:14 PM
 Country: USA  ~  Posts: 103  ~  Member Since: August 09 2010  ~  Last Visit: December 06 2015 Alert Moderator 

AMC_Gremlin_GT
Big Boy

GremlinBL2